Lanterns Light the Wu Tao

One of the delights of my job  is that you never know who is going to walk through the door.

Today a lovely woman who works in development walked in and immediately asked if I had lost weight. That was nice, but what was really special was that she noticed that I “just looked different.”

“It’s hard to describe, but you seem to be so much more serene, ” was her comment.

When I told her about the Wu Food Project, she wanted to know all about it. She told me she had prayed this morning about her own desire to not just lose weight, but to recover her former sense of self.

“I don’t need to be the Size 4 I used to be–I just want to feel good about myself and to have my old energy and attitude back,” she explained.

As we talked,  we realized how much we had in common. I wonder how many other people have noticed the current  trend towards a preoccupation with food. I talked a little about this in my entry called “Farewell Foodlandia”.

It made me so happy when she told me she felt like coming into the store today was meant to be–that she wants to read along with the entries each day to light the way of her own journey, and her own diet project.

I am so grateful to Mr. Wu whose dedication and concern for my wellness is providing me with  a light both steady and bright,  enabling  me to find my way through my own overgrown thicket of detrimental habits and poor nutritional choices.

Th Wu  Food Project is about food, but it is not all about food.

It’s about finding a path. And lighting the way.

 

Leave a Reply

