Riders in the Skyeeee

What manner of beast is yon Rudolph? Post your guesses, s'il vous plait.

Before I post this entry, let’s see who can guess what manner of beasts ride the night sky over the roof of this homeowner, who is showing off more than just his holiday colors.

There. That was a hint. Now I am going to shut up before I burble off more hints. Oh shoot, actually, I’ve already given you two hints, although one may have been a little obtuse. If so….good!

Can you guess what my mom and I saw as we went riding around looking at Christmas lights tonight?

Sparrowhawk offered up this choice comment:

“These are obviously French hens. I said as much to my brother Mycroft, but he believes they are clearly armadillos, the unofficial mascot of counterculture University of Texas fans. He allows that they are plainly headed toward Austin where they will party hearty after a warmup stopover in Fayetteville.”

Yep, those are red Arkansas Razorback Hogs hurtling through the sky.  I guess three Arkansas Razorbacks have the horsepower of nine reindeer. To add a finishing touch to his homage to Fayetteville, the fan in residence added a large red bulb for the lead hog, otherwise known as Rudolph the Red Nosed Razorback.

As we drove around the neighborhood, Mom and I came upon  another yard decorated with a more bucolic scene.

In this Christmas tableau, a large, life-sized razorback,  shining redly in the night,  peacefully  grazed near the azalea bushes.

One thought on “Riders in the Skyeeee

  1. These are obviously French hens. I said as much to my brother Mycroft, but he believes they are clearly armadillos, the unofficial mascot of counterculture University of Texas fans. He allows that they are plainly headed toward Austin where they will party hearty after a warmup stopover in Fayetteville.

Leave a Reply

