Fallowing My Heart

Tonight the people who live in the Santa House invited me to come back for a visit!

One of the more  intriguing words I remember discovering was the word “fallow”.

I have never thought of this before, but do other people remember learning certain words?

For me, learning a new word that had a precise meaning that expressed a thought both fully and succinctly was always an exciting thing. Fallow not only tells you what it is–but also why.

Words all have a musicality, and that is one reason I have always been in love with them.  Some are staccato, some are legato–and when the meaning of a word is echoed by the sound of it,  then you have a word that packs a big wallop. Like the word “fallow”.

Fallow comes to my  mind today,  because that is what I was yesterday.  Fallow ground is land that has been plowed up and left unseeded so that it will be more fertile for the next planting.

Being fallow can be a very healthy thing. Sometimes it is all you can do, and that is not only okay, it is the best thing that you can do for yourself and for others.

Admittedly I do not always practice what I preach, but it is still  something I know to be true. I am much better off when I allow myself time to re-charge and restore my energy.  I wind up being twice as productive if I just unplug for a bit. Unfortunately, I wait until I am utterly depleted before I do this.

So although there was much to do yesterday, I surely did not accomplish much.  I was tired mentally and physically. Actually, I think they call it “exhausted”. Basically,  I just floated through the day yesterday– and today I regained most of my perk back.

Best of all, I was able to go for a walk right at dusk –before our rehearsal. I followed my usual route, which took me past the Santa House, and as I neared it, I saw that one of the owners was out raking leaves.

I told him how much I had enjoyed their decorations, and that I had taken a photo earlier of their lights and their window. I even pulled out my phone and showed him the photos I had taken.

He was the nicest guy–and was heaping praise on his wife who he says does all of the decorating. Since he was there, I asked if he minded if I took another  photo even closer to their window, and he said to go right ahead.

I explained to him where I live, and we exchanged email addresses so that I can send him and his wife the Wu Food Project  address.  I was amazed (yes, there is that word again)  that he would invite me back to meet his wife and daughter, so that I can go inside and enjoy the beauty of their home. I am really looking forward to meeting the family who lives in the Santa House.

I told him about the house down the street with the Labrador retriever–and he said they have one, too.I think he said it belongs to his daughter , who has recently  come back to live with them.

This kindness makes me feel so blessed. I will try to find a Santa Claus ornament to give them for their tree.

It all makes me think of this song… from the Fantastiks….

Try to remember the kind of September
When life was slow and oh, so mellow.
Try to remember the kind of September
When grass was green and grain was yellow.
Try to remember the kind of September
When you were a tender and callow fellow.
Try to remember, and if you remember,
Then follow.
Try to remember when life was so tender
That no one wept except the willow.
Try to remember when life was so tender
That dreams were kept beside your pillow.
Try to remember when life was so tender
That love was an ember about to billow.
Try to remember, and if you remember,
Then follow.
Follow, follow, follow, follow, follow,
Deep in December, it’s nice to remember,
Although you know the snow will follow.
Deep in December, it’s nice to remember,
Without a hurt the heart is hollow.
Deep in December, it’s nice to remember,
The fire of September that made us mellow.
Deep in December, our hearts should remember
And follow.

Leave a Reply

