Dr. Wu

Jay works as producer while Tony Huerta records and engineers at Ardent. Tony's studio, Sonic Audio Productions, is located in Denver and he is the go-to guy for a cappella groups like Take 6, Nota, and Mpact--and us!

Monday night’s long recording session at Ardent led me to purchase a sandwich that was off the beaten Wu Tao. Let’s just say I was really, really hungry–and the force of olive salad was strong. So I partook of a mystical  muffaletta, and for whatever reason, I have been under the weather the last couple of days.

Tonight, when I called Mr. Wu on my way home from the office, I told him of my malaise, and asked him to prepare Wu boxes containing  whatever he thought would settle most gently on my tender tummy.

After a little discussion primarily with himself, he answered that he thought something steamed, like chicken breast,  would be the best bet–along with some steamed asparagus. I told him he was the boss-well actually, I called him “Dr. Wu”, which tickled him, and me, too.

When I arrived he flipped open the lid and showed me the extremely naked chicken and asparagus along with two mounds of plain brown rice. The sight of the unadorned dishes was  actually more  appealing to me than the usual sauces that I dearly love– Dr. Wu chose well for the puny grasshopper.

NPR covered  a study regarding the curative powers of mom’s chicken soup vs the same soup with the same ingredients prepared by a mercenary chef. Turns out there is some sort of curative power in food prepared with love. Scientists are still conducting experiments, trying to figure out the transformative alchemy of love and homemade broth.

I think about the first Americans, the people who thrived in this country before the Europeans arrived, and how comfortable they were with their place in the universe, which is to say their relationship with nature and living things. They also had a respect for objects created from the earth, and by the hands of their people.

The nicest thing about dinner by Dr. Wu tonight wasn’t the meal. It was the pause in our conversation when  he mulled out loud over what he should prepare.

There are moments like this that are so ordinary, and yet so extraordinary; times when we are hip deep in our day to day lives, when the words “Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable unto Thee, my strength and my Redeemer,” ring true and resonate within us.

Meditating within our hearts. It all comes from within.

There’s a cure in that for sure, and it’s part of the Wu Tao I most want to follow.

Leave a Reply

